Tatva Gyan

Course Eligibility : General education and basic knowledge of Internet

Course Duration : Minimum six months

Begins On : Self Paced


Knowledge of Tatvas is essential to develop right faith or samyakdarshan which is the first step to the path to liberation. It is likely that some misunderstanding of these fundamentals may happen as the concepts, although very old and eternal, are new to the readers. The course deals with Errors concerning the seven fundamentals and definitions and pseudo definitions. The fourteen gunasthans (stages of spiritual development) and the eleven stages of the householder in the fifth scale of the spiritual development are included in the course. The concepts of happiness, five bhavas, the four abhavas (Absence), thirty-two wishful reflections, the method of understanding the meaning of religious texts, merits and demerits, the six cases, substantive and instrumental causes, the experience of the soul and investigation of the elements are contained in the course. Besides, there are stories of Tirthankar Bhagwan Mahaveer and Five Pandvas. Select Stotra are included for promoting such studies. The Chapters are written by well-known scholars and from the Tatvagyan Pathmala Part-1 and 2 which are edited by Dr. Hukum Chand Bharill. Those who have some background in Jain principles can opt for this course.


Unit - 1
Errors Concerning the Seven Fundamentals
The Eleven Stages of the Householder in the Fifth Scale of the Spiritual Development
What is Happiness?

Unit - 2
The Five Bhavas
The Four Abhavas (Abscene)
The Five Pandvas

Unit - 3
Merits and Demerits
Substantive and Instrumental Causes
The Experience of the. Soul and Investigation Qf the Elements

Unit - 4
The Six Cases [Grammar]
The Fourteen Gunasthans (Stages of Spiritual Development)
Tirthankar Bhagwan Mahaveer


The program does not specify any restrictions in terms of age and qualifications for taking up a given course. The objective is to make these courses available to anyone with an interest in Jain Philosophy.

However, it is suggested that one should carefully select the course depending on one’s interest in the subject, current level of understanding of Jain Philosophy, experience and educational qualification. The Idea is that one should benefit from the course in terms of usefulness in one’s life, changed perception about things around us and develop deep rooted interest in Jain Philosophy so that one can embark on the path of moksha.

Those who have no exposure to Jain Principles should start with Balbodh or Vitrag Vigyan and later on take Tatavagyan depending on individual aptitude. It is advisable to look at the syllabus before making up the choice. However, some might have primary understanding of Jain Principles can take opt for Jain Siddhant Prashnottarmala to sharpen existing ability. To continue to have interest in Jain Principles requires maturity and prior exposure to these concepts.

If an individual has interest in studying simple Jain text it is advised that one can select Chhahdhala which contains many Jain Principles and describes the path to Moksha in lucid manner. This text is also known as mini – Samaysar. In case you have not read any Jain text, It is better to start with this one. If an aspiring student has already gone through Chhahdhala, one can take Tattvaarthsutra to know more about Jain Principles in a very systematic manner. Those who have exposure to either of these two text, then it is advisable to opt for Samaysar. In absence of knowledge of basic Jain Principles and the terms used in Jain Philosophy, it may be difficult to follow Samaysar. It is our sincere wish that everyone should study Samaysar at some stage so that one can really learn about their own soul and the real path to Moksha.

You’re one step closer to start with this course

Take this Course

Follow Us